Hahnenkamm Race

World-class skiing in Kitz

Skiers on the Streif
Hahnenkamm Advent - the highlight of the year

The Hahnenkamm is a strongly characteristic symbol in the chamois city of Kitzbühel, not far from the Hotel Elisabeth in Kirchberg.

In 1937, the first ski race was organised on today's Streif route by the Kitzbühel Ski Club. After a nine-year hiatus during the war, it continued.

The Hahnenkamm run on the penultimate weekend in January is the fastest and most spectacular racing route in the Skiing World Cup. Around the ski run, the focus is on daring athletes, numerous celebrities and a number of ski legends. Things are no different for the 82th Hahnenkamm Race 2022.

Ski run with a shot

The runners start on a 50% gradient at 1665m. The first jump, the Mausefalle, is even steeper: with an 85%% gradient. Since the race began, racers have already jumped up to 80m here. Over the demanding precipice, the course goes to the Seidlalm jump, further over the Lärchenschuss and then via the Hausbergkante into the crossbar to the final stretch.

The skiers reach speeds of up to 145km/h. The goal, near the centre of Kitzbühel's old town, lies at 805m. With a length of 3,312m and an average gradient of 27%, this run is one of the most exciting and dangerous racing routes in the world.

The best skiers of the Streif

The first Streif victor, Thaddäus Schwabl, won with 3:35.1 minutes in 1937. The route's record was set by Austria's Fritz Strobl in 1997. With 1:51.58 min. and an average speed of 107km/h, he whizzed through the Streif. The most Streif victories are held by Switzerland's Didier Cuche.

Ski legend and native Kitzbüheler Toni Sailer has won five victories on the Streif. He is a member of the Kitzbühel Wonder Team with Christian Pravda, Fritz Huber and Anderl Molterer. They dominated the 1950s as winners in the slalom and run. Afterwards, Karl Schranz and Frenchman Jean-Claude Killy claimed victories until young Carinthian Franz Klammer appeared in the 1970s and won the run three times in a row with a wild ride. The only ex aequo victory came from Sepp Walcher and Sepp Ferstl in 1978. In 1974, Hansi Hinterseer was the last Kitzbüheler to win the Hahnenkamm Race.

Outside of racing times incl. preparations and follow-up work, you yourself can test out the Streif. The Streif family run (red slope) goes around the three most difficult sections.

Don't miss out on this fascinating mix of breathtaking sports events and glamorous celebrity meets. Hahnenkamm Race tickets can be purchased directly at the race. You should reserve your comfortable room beforehand. Secure your accommodation away from the hustle and bustle and yet still very close with the ****S Hotel Elisabeth in Kirchberg: you can get directly to the Hahnenkamm Race with the shuttle trains from Kirchberg in just 10 minutes. The Elisabeth team looks forward to receiving your request.

Book & Enquire Best price guarantee